“Footballers” (Crescent)

Year of issue: 1923
Issued by: Crescent Confectionery Co. Ltd.
Trade reference number(s): CRE-080 / CRM-1
Number of cards in set: 103 (+1 variation)
Size: approximately 55mm x 37mm
Approximate value (per card): Murrays unlisted; FCCM £85.00

Over one hundred very rare – and expensive! – cards indeed. All cards have the same back and, because they are unnumbered, I have arranged them here in alphabetical order.

Just for the record, I have moved this series to 1923 (even though dealers will more usually place it in 1928) because it contains Danny Shea who played at Coventry City for only the one season, 1923-24.

It was always thought that there were 100 cards in this series but then in February 2016 Matthew Zubrot came up with the Grimsdell (Tottenham) card to take the tally to 101 and then, in March 2020, I came across the previously unrecorded card of Moss (Aston Villa) card on eBay to make it 102. In September 2020 a hitherto unrecorded card of W. Cook (Sheffield United) was offered for sale at £500.00 by Nigel at CardHawk on his site or £550.00 on eBay 😮😮 and so the total currently stands at 103 and counting…

Back     CRE-080 CRM-1 Baker     CRE-080 CRM-1 Barnes     1923 CRE-080 CRM-1 Barry Notts County     CRE-080 CRM-1 Boyle     CRE-080 CRM-1 Bromilow     CRE-080 CRM-1 Cock     CRE-080 CRM-1 Cook     CRE-080 CRM-1 Dorrell     CRE-080 CRM-1 Elliott     CRE-080 CRM-1 Forward     CRE-080 CRM-1 Gillespie     Green     Grimsdell     CRESCENT cre 080 crm 1 henderson     CRE-080 CRM-1 Kelly     CRE-080 CRM-1 McCall     McKinlay     CRE-080 CRM-1 Marsden     CRE-080 CRM-1 Moss     Murphy     CRE-080 CRM-1 Olney     Puddefoot     CRE-080 CRM-1 Spencer     CRE-080 CRM-1 Stage     CRE-080 CRM-1 Summers     Taylor E     CRE-080 CRM-1 Tonner     Wadsworth     CRE-080 CRM-1 Wilson G     Wilson T     CRE-080 CRM-1 Wood

  • J.W. Baker (Leeds United)
  • H. Barnes (Manchester City)
  • L. Barry (Notts County)
  • F. Barson (Manchester United)
  • H. Bedford (Blackpool)
  • J. Blair (Cardiff City)
  • A.G. Bower (Corinthians)
  • T. Boyle (Sheffield United)
  • T.G. Bromilow (Liverpool)
  • W. Brown (Chelsea)
  • N. Bullock (Bury)
  • T. Clay (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • D.J. Cock (Notts County)
  • J.G. Cock (Everton)
  • J. Coleburne (Exeter City)
  • J. Collins (Swansea Town)
  • W. Cook (Sheffield United)
  • H.S. Crawford (Millwall Ath)
  • R. Cringan (Birmingham)
  • B. Cross (Burnley)
  • A. Cunningham (Glasgow Rangers)
  • R. Davies (Portsmouth)
  • J. Dawson (Burnley)
  • E. Dimmock (Newport County)
  • A.R. Dorrell (Aston Villa)
  • G.W. Elliott (Middlesbrough)
  • F. Forward (Newport County)
  • R. Gillespie (Queens Park)
  • W. Gillespie (Sheffield United)
  • A. Goodman (Charlton Athletic)
  • T. Green (Heart of Midlothian)
  • F.J. Gregory (Watford)
  • A. Grimsdell (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • J.B. Grimwood (Manchester United)
  • W. Harthil (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
  • W. Henderson (Manchester United)
  • L.G. Hill (Queens Park Rangers)
  • F.C. Hudspeth (Newcastle United)
  • A.E. Hufton (West Ham United)
  • D. Hutchinson (South Shields)
  • A. Iremonger (Notts County)
  • D.B.N. Jack (Bolton Wanderers)
  • R. John (Queens Park Rangers)
  • H. Johnson (Sheffield United)
  • F. Kean (Bolton Wanderers)
  • Fred Keenor (Cardiff City)
  • R. Kelly (Burnley)
  • A.L. Kennedy (Arsenal)
  • King (Oldham Athletic)
  • F. Knowles (Newport County, ex Man United)
  • N. McBain (Everton)
  • J. McCall (Preston North End)
  • McClelland (Preston North End)
  • J. McIntyre (Derby County)
  • D. McKinlay (Liverpool)
  • J. McMullen (Manchester City)
  • L. McPherson (Swansea Town)
  • B. Marsden (QPR)
  • H. Mercer (Sheffield United)
  • Milton (Sheffield United)
  • J.F. Mitchell (Manchester City)
  • C. Moore (Manchester United)
  • W.A. Morgan (Crystal Palace)
  • Morton (Rangers)
  • F. Moss (Aston Villa)
  • L. Murphy (Derby County)
  • A. Mutch (Newcastle United)
  • J. Oakes (Port Vale)
  • B. Olney (Derby County)
  • F. Pagnam (Watford)
  • F.J. Penn (Fulham)
  • J. Priestley (Grimsby Town)
  • S.C. Puddefoot (Blackburn Rovers)
  • A. Purdy (Charlton Athletic)
  • W.E. Rawlings (Southampton)
  • C. Rennox (Clapton Orient)
  • J.H. Riddell (Fulham)
  • A. Rigsby (Everton)
  • D. Rollo (Blackburn Rovers)
  • J. Rutherford (Arsenal)
  • E. Scott (Liverpool)
  • D. Shea (Coventry City)
  • T.G. Smith (Manchester United)
  • J.W. Spence (Manchester United)
  • J.L. Spencer (West Bromwich)
  • W. Stage (Bury)
  • A. Steele (Charlton Athletic)
  • W. Summers (St. Mirren)
  • E. Taylor (Huddersfield Town)
  • L. Thompson (Swansea Town)
  • J. Tonner (Clapton Orient)
  • S. Tonner (Clapton Orient)
  • J. Torrance (Fulham)
  • S. Wadsworth (Huddersfield Town)
  • W.H. Walker (Aston Villa)
  • V. Watson (West Ham United)
  • W. Watson (Huddersfield Town)
  • John White (Hearts)
  • G. Wilson (Sheffield Wednesday)
  • T. Wilson (Huddersfield Town)
  • A. Wood (Clapton Orient)
  • J.W. Wood (Blackpool)
  • R.E. Yorke (Aston Villa)

There is one known error/variety as Syd Puddefoot appears for two teams:

  • S.C. Puddefoot (Blackburn Rovers / Falkirk)

NB A card rated only as “good” and depicting Puddefoot as a Falkirk player was available on eBay for £114.31 ($145.00) in October 2019. It’s still there in 2020…

Then in March 2020 the above card of QPR player Ben Marsden sold on eBay for £103.00.

On 8th March 2020 the above – previously unrecorded – card of Frank Moss also sold on eBay for an astonishing £139.87!

I am still short of several images here – can YOU help, please?